hey, Parrot

Hiked up Pico de Loro (again) yesterday. Funny how, when I first climbed it a few years ago to celebrate my birthday, I went as a TrailAdventours guest; these days I go as a TrailAd guide. One of our guests asked me if I ever get tired of climbing the same mountains. It was like asking me if I ever get tired of snuggling in bed with a book and a mug of hot chocolate on rainy Sundays. Though I am sensible to surfeit and also seek variety, I don’t easily tire of something I enjoy doing. Besides, the experience of hiking, like reading, varies with every instance, because things change in the interim. While a literary text seldom alters, a mountain always does, and so do I and the people I climb it with. Of course, there are mountains I like revisiting more than others–those that offer visions of open sky and distant peaks, vistas of seeming infinity.

 

DSC_3708 DSC_3715 DSC_3723 DSC_3727 DSC_3730

 

2 thoughts on “hey, Parrot

    • but not when the campsite is ~teeming~ with people, like last weekend, haha. I wish the LGU or the local DENR regulated the number of climbers.

      Like

Leave a message?

