One day I know I shall unlearn you

but for now let me quote to you reasons why

I’d rather not.

1.

“your eyes are full of language.”

2.

“Oh, I don’t mean you’re handsome, not the way people think of handsome. Your face seems kind. But your eyes — they’re beautiful. They’re wild, crazy, like some animal peering out of a forest on fire.”

3.

“I don’t know how to tell you what I feel. I live in perpetual expectancy. You come and the time slips away in a dream. It is only when you go that I realize completely your presence. And then it is too late. You numb me.”

4.

“In a way, you are poetry material; You are full of cloudy subtleties I am willing to spend a lifetime figuring out.”

5.

“If I loved you less, I might be able to talk about it more. But you know what I am. You hear nothing but truth from me.”

6.

“when you tell me to come, I will come, by the next train, just as I am. This is not meekness, be assured; I do not come naturally by meekness; know that it is a proud surrender to you; I don’t talk like that to many people. “

7.

“You have no idea how stand-offish I can be with people I don’t love. I have brought it to a fine art. But you have broken down my defences. And I don’t really resent it.”

8.

“I have no fear of losing you, for you aren’t an object of my property, or anyone else’s. I love you as you are, without attachment, without fears, without conditions, without egoism, trying not to absorb you. I love you freely because I love your freedom, as well as mine.”

9.

“I love your feet/ because they have/ wandered over/ the earth and through/ the wind and water/ until they brought/ you to me.”

10.

“Take me to your trees. Take me to your breakfasts, your sunsets, your bad dreams, your shoes, your nouns. Take me to your fingers.”

  1. Anne Sexton
  2. Charles Bukowski
  3. Henry Miller
  4. Franz Kafka
  5. Jane Austen
  6. Edna St. Vincent Millay
  7. Vita Sackville-West
  8. Anthony de Mello
  9. Pablo Neruda
  10. Margaret Atwood
Leave a message?

